What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson Book Cover

BY CORY ANDERSON

What Beauty There Is

A Novel

Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Living in harsh poverty, Jack Morton is holding his breath. He and his younger brother have nothing—except each other. And now Jack faces a stark choice: lose his brother to foster care or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

He chooses the money.

Ava Bardem lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one. Now Victor Bardem is stalking the same money as Jack. When he picks up on Jack’s trail, Ava must make her own wrenching choice: remain silent or speak, and help the brothers survive.

Choices. They come at a price.

 

 

About the Author

Cory Anderson

What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson’s YA novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive—perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Laura Ruby, and Meg Rosoff.

Cory is a winner of the League of Utah Writers Young Adult Novel Award and Grand Prize in the Storymakers Conference First Chapter Contest. What Beauty There Is is her debut novel.

Writer Cory Anderson

Photos credit: Heather Nan Photography

Fierce Reads Logo PNG
Barnes and Noble Logo
Amazon Logo
Indie Bound

Support indie with your purchase

from The King’s English Bookshop!

add it on

Good Reads
{

To understand the truth,

you have to start at the beginning.

– WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS

Upcoming Events

A message from Cory

What Beauty There Is is about living with the unknown, and having hope for what’s to come.

News

Selected News and Interviews