What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson Book Cover

BY CORY ANDERSON

What Beauty There Is

A Novel

Winter in Idaho. The sky is dark. It is cold enough to crack bones.

Living in harsh poverty, Jack Morton is holding his breath. He and his younger brother have nothing—except each other. And now Jack faces a stark choice: lose his brother to foster care or find the drug money that sent his father to prison.

He chooses the money.

Ava Bardem lives in isolation, a life of silence. For seventeen years her father, a merciless man, has controlled her fate. He has taught her to love no one. Now Victor Bardem is stalking the same money as Jack. When he picks up on Jack’s trail, Ava must make her own wrenching choice: remain silent or speak, and help the brothers survive.

Choices. They come at a price.

 

 

About the Author

Cory Anderson

What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson’s YA novel about brutality and beauty, and about broken people trying to survive—perfect for fans of Patrick Ness, Laura Ruby, and Meg Rosoff.

Cory is a winner of the League of Utah Writers Young Adult Novel Award and Grand Prize in the Storymakers Conference First Chapter Contest. What Beauty There Is is her debut novel.

Writer Cory Anderson

Photos credit: Heather Nan Photography

Fierce Reads Logo PNG
Barnes and Noble Logo
Amazon Logo
Indie Bound

Support indie with your purchase

from The King’s English Bookshop!

add it on

Good Reads
{

To understand the truth,

you have to start at the beginning.

– WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS

Upcoming Events

League of Utah Writers presents, Quills Conference • Virtual/Live Event

 In her workshop, Cory will talk with you about her path to getting published, where you’re at on the path, and the many ways to get where you want to go on your publishing journey.

This conference will take place (with live and virtual options) on August 12-15, 2021.

November 5-7, 2021

YALSA 2021 Symposium, William C. Morris Panel for Young Adult Authors • Reno, NV

Join YALSA, librarians, and YA authors in Reno for the 2021 Symposium as we discuss strategies for serving teens during difficult times and continue to develop programs that ensure our biggest little safe spaces thrive for years to come.

A message from Cory

What Beauty There Is is about finding beauty in brutal times, and having hope for what’s to come.

News

Selected News and Interviews

Book Publicist

Morgan Kane

Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group

Literary Agent

Lindsay Auld

Writers House

Film Agent

Sylvie Rabineau

WME

For images, interviews, and information related to WHAT BEAUTY THERE IS, please contact Morgan Kane at morgan.kane@macmillan.com.

Black and White Headshot Writer Cory Anderson